Healthcare Systems Engineering

People & Partners

HSyE Team

Leadership

James Benneyan
Executive Director
Professor of Industrial Engineering
Advanced data analytics
Statistical modeling

Faculty

Vin Sahney

Vinod Sahney, PhD
Industrial and Systems Engineering
Healthcare IEOR
v.sahney@neu.edu

Awatef Omar

Awatef Omar Ergai, PhD
Industrial Engineering 
Human factors 
a.ergai@neu.edu

martinez Dayna Lee Martinez, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Simulation
d.martinez@neu.edu
Thomas Cullinane

Thomas Cullinane, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Facility layout, Inventory
t.cullinane@neu.edu

Susan Freeman

Susan Freeman, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Healthcare Industrial Engineering
sfreeman@coe.neu.edu

Jacqueline Griffin

Jacqueline Griffin, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Healthcare resource allocation
ja.griffin@neu.edu

Yingzi Lin

Yingzi Lin, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Human factors
yilin@neu.edu

H. David Sherman

H. David Sherman, DBA
College of Business
Data envelopment analysis
h.sherman@neu.edu

Rifat Sipahi

Rifat Sipahi, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Adaptive control models
r.sipahi@neu.edu

Ayten Turkcan Ayten Turkcan, PhD
Industrial Engineering
Healthcare scheduling
a.turkcan@neu.edu
Nizar Zaarour Nizar Zaarour, PhD
College of Business
Operations Research
n.zaarour@neu.edu
mcgovern

Seamus McGovern, PhD
D'Amore-McKim School of Business
Supply Chain and Information Management
s.mcgovern@neu.edu 


Adjunct Faculty & Fellows

Susan Haas

Susan Haas, MD, MSc
Clinician-in-Residence
OB/GYN
s.haas@neu.edu

Jacqueline Isaacs Jacqueline Isaacs, PhD
Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
jaisaacs@coe.neu.edu
Arthur Lambert

Arthur Lambert, MSEP, LHMISS
Adjunct Faculty
Solution Executive, Capacity Management
McKesson Corporation
Capacity management
a.lambert@neu.edu

George Moran

George "Russ" Moran
College of Business
Healthcare leadership & finance
g.moran@neu.edu

Lawrence Seiford

Lawrence M. Seiford, PhD
University of Michigan
Efficiency frontier analysis
seiford@umich.edu

April Soler

April Soler
Graduate Research Fellow
a.soler@neu.edu

Cory Stasko

Cory Stasko
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Engineering & Policy Fellow
c.stasko@neu.edu

James Stahl

James Stahl, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Internal medicine


Staff

Corey Balint

Corey Balint
Staff Engineer
c.balint@neu.edu

Sofjola Bego

Sofjola Bego
Communications Coordinator
s.bego@neu.edu

Katherine Book

Katherine Book
Dissemination and Relationship Coordinator
k.book@neu.edu

John Bowen

John Bowen
Corporate and Foundation Advancement
j.bowen@neu.edu

Jamie Hackney

Jamie Hackney
Executive Assistant
ja.hackney@neu.edu

Iulian Ilies

Nadine Hill
Operations Manager
n.hill@neu.edu

Christina McNeil

Christina McNeil
Web Designer and Content Coordinator
College of Engineering
c.mcneil@neu.edu

Tom Olson

Tom Olson
Computer Support Specialist
Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
t.olson@neu.edu

Alyssa Slaymaker

Alyssa Slaymaker
Staff Engineer
a.slaymaker@neu.edu

Ally Snigur

Alessandra Snigur
Staff Engineer
a.snigur@neu.edu


Support Staff

Rachel Basso

Rachel Basso
Communications & Administrative Support
basso.ra@husky.neu.edu

Camille Gramont

Camille Gramont
Communications & Administrative Support
gramont.c@husky.neu.edu

Travis Kartz

Travis Kartz
Communications & Administrative Support
kartz.K@husky.neu.edu


Post-Doctoral Research Associates

Eralp Dogu

Eralp Dogu, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Quality Engineering
e.dogu@neu.edu

Iulian Ilies

Iulian Ilies, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Data Mining
i.ilies@neu.edu

mahootchi

Tannaz Mahootchi, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Healthcare Operations Management
t.mahootchi@neu.edu

Hande Musdal

Hande Musdal, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Mathematical modeling and optimization
h.musdal@neu.edu

Esmaili

Nazanin Esmaili, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Stochastic Processes and Mathematical Modeling
n.esmaili@northeastern.edu

Sibel B. Sonuc

Sibel B. Sonuc, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Associate
Optimization
s.sonuc@neu.edu


Graduate Research Assistants

Brendan Bettinger

Brendan Bettinger
Graduate Research Assistant
Cooperative competition
b.bettinger@neu.edu

Dominic Breuer

Dominic Breuer
Graduate Research Assistant
Hospital-acquired infections and robust optimization
dbreuer@coe.neu.edu

Melike Hazal Can

Melike Hazal Can
Graduate Research Assistant
m.can@neu.edu

Jessica Cleveland

Jessica Cleveland
Graduate Research Assistant
Predictive Modeling and Optimization
cleveland.j@husky.neu.edu

Iulian Ilies

Alex Cohen
Graduate Research Assistant
Inventory
cohen.alex@husky.neu.edu 

Kyle Cunningham

Kyle Cunningham
Graduate Research Assistant
Simulation and Optimization
cunningham.k@husky.neu.edu

Sam Davis

Sam Davis
Graduate Research Assistant
Gordon Engineering Leadership Program Fellow
Patient flow predictive analytics
s.davis@neu.edu

Merve Durak

Merve Durak
Graduate Research Assistant

durak.m@husky.neu.edu

Razan Hassan

Razan Hassan
Graduate Research Assistant
OR models in cancer screening
r.hassan@neu.edu

Sara Nourazari

Sara Nourazari
Graduate Research Assistant
Adaptive control
s.nourazari@neu.edu

Ram Radha Krishnan

Ram Prashanth
Graduate Research Assistant
Quality improvement networks
r.radhakrishnan@neu.edu

Aven Samareh

Aven Samareh
Graduate Research Assistant
Quality control and applied statistics
samarehabolhasani.b@husky.neu.edu

Kendall Sanderson

Kendall Sanderson
Graduate Research Assistant
Gordon Engineering Leadership Program Fellow
Cancer care scheduling simulation
sanderson.k@husky.neu.edu

Parth Vadera

Parth Vadera
Graduate Research Assistant
vadera.p@husky.neu.edu

Lemonias

Demetric Lemonias
Graduate Research Assistant
Patient Safety Learning Lab Systems of Systems Monte Carlo Simulation, Boston Children's Hospital Spine Fusion Length of Stay Reduction, Brigham and Women's Opioid reduction task force
lemonias.d@husky.neu.edu

Salem

Joseph Salem
Graduate Research Assistant
BCH perioperative process, ASD project SPC performance dashboard, Duke SSI
salem.j@husky.neu.edu

Cyr

Melissa Cyr
Graduate Research Assistant
CHOT Access to Care, EHRLL FMEA
cyr.m@husky.neu.edu

Shutt

Annie Shutt
Graduate Research Assistant
Brigham and Women's opioid reduction task force (Engineering High Reliability Learning Lab), Systems Engineering Initiative for Patient Safety (SEIPS)
shutt.a@husky.neu.edu

Bargal

Basma Bargal
Graduate Research Assistant
EHRLL Management, Applying Safety 2 to Brigham and Women's Opioid prescribing
bargal.b@husky.neu.edu


Undergraduate Staff Engineers

Elizabeth Calhoun

Elizabeth Calhoun
Undergraduate Research Assistant
calhoun.el@husky.neu.edu

Marco Elmassih

Makarem "Marco" Elmassih
Undergraduate Research Assistant
elmassih.m@husky.neu.edu

Brian Green

Brian Green
Undergraduate Research Assistant
green.b@husky.neu.edu

Savannah Greenly

Savannah Greenly
Undergraduate Research Assistant
greenly.s@husky.neu.edu

Samantha Hay

Samantha Hay
Undergraduate Research Assistant
hay.sa@husky.neu.edu

Zach Katsulis

Zach Katsulis
Undergraduate Research Assistant
z.katsulis@neu.edu

DK Kim

DK Kim
Undergraduate Research Assistant
dong-yeob.kim@ttu.edu

Jessica Lewis

Jessica Lewis
Undergraduate Research Assistant
lewis.jes@husky.neu.edu

Jennine Lopez

Jennine Lopez
Undergraduate Research Assistant
j.lopez@neu.edu

Jeff Manville

Jeff Manville
Undergraduate Research Assistant
manville.j@husky.neu.edu

Ben Maslow

Benjamin Maslow
Undergraduate Research Assistant
maslow.b@husky.neu.edu

Obhafuoso Olumese

Obhafuoso Olumese
Undergraduate Research Assistant
o.olumese@neu.edu

Brenda Peralta

Brenda Peralta
Undergraduate Research Assistant
peralta.b@husky.neu.edu

Tyannah Reed

Tyannah Reed
Undergraduate Research Assistant
reed.ty@husky.neu.edu

Clayton Wiggins

Clayton Wiggins
Undergraduate Research Assistant
wiggins.c@husky.neu.edu

Joseph Eisner Joseph Eisner
Communications & Administrative Support
eisner.j@husky.neu.edu

Apply Now!